Software

In my free time, I like to develop lots of (but not good) Mac OS X software. Here some of my more noteworthy (for me) projects.

Active development

TR Poser

TR Poser poses TR stuff in TR environments. Not really spectacular, is it?

TR Poser was made for only one job: Creating web comics, or, to be precise, creating my comics. The tool was done quickly, most important functions are lacking, and I get the impression that there are more bugs than working code. But somehow, it does exactly what I want it to (and not one damn thing more). While I won’t completely rule out that I release it to the public some day, it needs really heavy work to get it in any shape for this.

Released

Hubschrauber

Fly helicopters!

Hubschrauber (which is german for ‘Helicopter’) is my first game where I use not Objective-C, but C++. This makes the game slightly faster and much more portable - there is even a Windows version. Only recently have I added network support.

There’s a trend with my games: You can get around an area, but you can’t really do anything interesting and there is no goal to the game. Hubschrauber is no exception to this.

iMine

Minesweeper for Mac. One of maybe twenty you can get right now.

I’ve started far more than fifty projects, but the only one that was ever released was nothing but yet another Minesweeper clone.

However, it still is my favourite Minesweeper clone, and it got 120 downloads at Macgamefiles. That is little, close to none, for that site, but it is really, really much for my work, so I’m quite happy about that.

On hold

I have 21 projects on my iMac right now (and much more on other media), but I only recognise maybe four of them on first sight. Here are some of the more interesting projects where I got too bored to continue.

Snow

Snow is, like, about snow. And stuff.

Snow started as a small, quick and dirty game. That plan somewhat failed, and now it’s the biggest steamin’ pile of source code I’ve ever managed. It can do lots, but little really good. Still, it’s good enough to impress my friends, and if it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me.

These days, I stopped work on Snow and focus more on Hubschrauber, which has much better code. Should I ever return to working on Snow, then huge parts of Snow will probably be converted to using code from Hubschrauber.

TSpread

Take Excel, combine it with Notepad, and then put this all on a Mac.

Once upon a time, I decided that Excel was too big and heavy for my purpose, so I set out to write my own, little, spreadsheet application.

TSpread can do little, it lacks lots of what you might consider pure essentials, but it has the absolute foundations right. If I worked more on it, it might become the most useful of all things I’ve ever programmed. However, now that Apple has entered the spreadsheet market (as they should have, long ago), there is so no need for anything like this anymore.

Ghosts

One Room. Five Ghosts. That's it.

Ghosts is my first and so far only first-person-something. I created it for a contest on iDevGames (but never managed to get it in any shape that I dared to enter). It’s got one room, five ghosts that you can run into (they’ll start flying away and spin), and that’s about it. I used to have bigger plans, but no idea how to implement them.

Most of the code is based on a very old version of Snow, which makes it a living hell to try and get anything changed. Just like Snow, I’d probably port it over to use Hubschrauber code for many parts before I’d do any new work on it.


Last Related Blog Posts

Bachelor Thesis: Simulating Lego Mindstorms

Damn, I havenít updated this in a long time, have I? Donít worry, though, I will now post more here, as I have found a good topic: My bachelor thesis, which I recently started working on. Let me introduce you to it.

Single Instruction, Multiple Data

A quite interesting technology for video games is SIMD, spelled out Single Instruction Multiple Data, meaning that one computer instruction processes more than one value. This may be best illustrated by an example. A normal piece of code that every game needs will look vaguely like this:

The Switches are Lined Up

University is fully active again, so my progress is now somewhat slower and will remain so. Still, I was able to implement a number of nice (as in essential) features, which means it’s time for a new Video!

Railroading

I may have been quiet for the past two days, but that does not mean I’ve not been working. After much prodding, I was able to generate the following video:

Railroad Simulator with Tracks

I had originally announced it for yesterday evening, but now I finally did it: After a lot of work, much of which was spent on the converter as such, I have a graphical representation of railroad tracks. What does this mean precisely?

All blog posts about Software

Software

In meiner Freizeit entwickle ich gerne und viel (aber nicht gut) Software für Mac OS X. Hier ist eine Auswahl meiner bemerkenswerteren Projekte.

In Arbeit

TR Poser

TR Poser positioniert TR-Objekte in TR Leveln.

TR Poser hat nur einen Zweck: Webcomics zu erstellen, um genau zu sein meine Comics. Das Tool ist schnell gemacht, die meisten wichtigen Funktionen fehlen und ich scheine mehr Bugs als funktionierenden Code zu haben. Aber es tut genau das, was ich will, und mir reicht das. Ich will nicht ausschließen, dass es irgendwann einmal veröffentlicht wird, aber dafür müsste ich sehr, sehr viel ändern.

Veröffentlicht

Hubschrauber

Hubschrauber fliegen im Netzwerk

Hubschrauber ist mein neuestes Projekt, und das erste, wo ich mein geliebtes, aber nicht auf Windows laufendes Objective-C durch C++ als Programmiersprache ersetzt habe. Es läuft auf Windows und Mac, sogar inklusive Netzwerk.

Als Spiel scheint es bei mir einen langen Trend zu geben: Man kann durch die Gegend kommen, aber nichts wirklich interessantes tun. Ein Spielziel gibt es nicht. Hubschrauber macht da überhaupt keine Ausnahme.

iMine

Minesweeper für Mac. Einer von rund zwanzig, die es derzeit gibt.

Ich habe sicher schon über fünfzig Projekte angefangen, aber dass eine, dass ich veröffentlicht habe, ist nichts weiter als ein popeliger Minesweer-Clone.

Man muss iMine aber zugute halten, dass es nicht nur mein Lieblings-Minesweeper-Clone ist, sondernd ich damit auch immerhin 120 Downloads auf Macgamefiles erreicht habe. Das ist für diese Seite wenig, verdammt wenig, aber immer noch mehr als nichts.

Auf Eis

Tausende meiner Projekte liegen auf Eis. Nun gut, nicht tausende, aber von 21 Projekten auf der Festplatte meines iMacs erkenne ich auf Anhieb nur vier wieder, und auf anderen Festplatten habe ich noch mehr. Hier ein paar der vielversprechenderen Projekte, für die ich mich in letzter Zeit nicht sonderlich interessiert habe.

Snow

Snow geht um Schnee. Und so.

Snow war ursprünglich als kleines, schnell gemachtes Spiel gedacht. Das ging irgendwie in die Hose, jetzt ist Snow der größte Haufen Code, an dem ich je gearbeitet habe. Es kann verdammt viel, aber wenig richtig, und was es am Ende werden soll weiß ich immer noch nicht.

Inzwischen hat Hubschrauber, welches deutlich Ÿbersichtlicheren Code hat, die Rolle des gro§en Projekts fŸr mich Ÿbernommen. Falls ich an Snow weiterarbeite, dann wird dies darauf hinauslaufen, dass sehr viel Code von Hubschrauber dort eingebaut werden wird.

TSpread

Man nehme Excel, kreuze es mit Notepad und portiere dass auf einen Mac.

Es geschah einmal, da meinte ich, dass mir Excel zu aufwändig wäre und ich lieber etwas kleiners hätte. Somit begab ich mich auf die Mission, ein eigenes Tabellenkalkulationsprogramm zu schreiben. TSpread kann vieles nicht, aber wenigstens die Grundlagen. Wenn ich mehr dran arbeiten würde, wäre es eigentlich gar nicht so schlecht, aber seit es Numbers gibt, gibt es nicht mal mehr einen Grund, darüber nachzudenken.

Ghosts

Ein Raum. Fünf fliegende Geister. Und sonst nichts.

Ghosts ist mein erstes und derzeit einziges First-Person-Spiel. Entworfen hatte ich es für einen Wettbewerb auf iDevGames (ich brachte es allerdings nicht rechtzeitig in eine Fassung, in der ich mich getraut hätte, es dort anzumelden). Es gibt einen Raum, fünf Geister, gegen die man gegenlaufen kann und das wars. Ich hatte mal besser Pläne, aber keine Ahnung, wie ich diese Umsetzen sollte, so dass ich jetzt nicht mehr so richtig weiß, was ich damit anfangen soll.

Viel von dem Code von Ghosts basiert auf sehr alten Versionen von Snow, so dass ich teilweise arge Probleme habe, zu verstehen, was ich da eigentlich tue. Wie auch Snow wŸrde ich hier viele Teile grundlegend erneuern müssen, bevor ich weiter arbeite


Letzte zugehörige Blogeinträge

Bachelorarbeit: Lego Mindstorms simulieren

Lange her, dass ich hier was geschrieben habe, nicht wahr? Na ja, jetzt wird es besser, da ich ein neues Thema gefunden habe: Meine Bachelorarbeit, mit der ich vor kurzem begonnen habe. Hier mal eine kleine Einführung.

Einzelne Anweisung, Mehrere Daten

Eine sehr interessante Technologie für Videospiele ist SIMD, ausgeschrieben Single Instruction Multiple Data, d.h. eine Anweisung, aber viele Daten. Ein Beispiel dafür ist, dass man fast überall eine Position ändern muss, was zum Beispiel so aussehen kann:

Die Weichen sind gestellt

Die Universität ist wieder in vollem Gange, weshalb mein Fortschritt jetzt etwas langsamer wird, was sich auch nicht so schnell bessern wird. Trotzdem habe ich jetzt eine ganze Reihe netter Features eingebaut, und damit ist es Zeit für ein neues Video!

Eisenbahnfahren

Ich mag in den letzten zwei Tagen etwas ruhig gewesen sein, aber ich habe weiter gearbeitet. Nach viel hin und her konnte ich das folgende Video erzeugen:

Eisenbahnsimulator mit Schienen

Ich hatte es eigentlich für gestern Abend versprochen, aber nun habe ich es geschafft: Nach viel Arbeit, wovon ein großer Teil sich dem Konverter-Programm als solchem widmete, habe ich nun die grafische Repräsentation von Schienen in meinem Programm. Was heißt das konkret?

Alle Einträge zu Software