Snow

Sometimes it works

Every time I start working on Snow after a few weeks pause, I find that something does not work and needs to be fixed before I can continue working.

What is Snow?

I really wished I knew the answer to that. I started the project after I cancelled another one, which was written in plain C and a mess. Snow is written completely in Objective-C, based on Cocoa. Physics are provided by Newton. It’s got something to do with Snow. That’s all I know.<

The goal of the game is to drive around with a snowcat until you get boring. There ought to be a race mode somewhere down there, but it’s a really long time since I last tried that out.

I used to say that Snow is a real game, not just some kind of “engine”. Turns out I was wrong. Snow is not a game, but it’s not an engine either. At best, it is some kind of tech demo, a very bloated one. It has snowcats that either drive unrealistically or not at all, railroads that cannot do curves, weather effects that cause the whole screen to blink and so on.

That's how it used to be
My first screenshot

It would be really cool if I went through the code and fixed everything that was buggy or unfinished. But that is no fun, compared to adding more unfinished features. So Snow keeps getting larger and more buggy. I don’t know if I’ll ever finish it. It’s not development with the aim of releasing the software, it’s mainly research for me nowadays.

In fact, I’ve stopped working on Snow now. Many ideas, but hardly any direct code, continue to live in Hubschrauber, which has now taken the role of my research project. It’s a much better one, with cleaner code and the like. If I ever go back to Snow, I’ll replace lots (most?) of the code with new code from Hubschrauber.


Last Related Blog Posts

Intermission

Short notice: Recently there hasn’t been much happening here, as you may have noticed. That’s going to stay that way for at least, if current plans work out, a month. To quote highway construction sites: Thank you for your patience!

Various Updates

After weeks of work it’s finally done: My game works just as well as it did before. Cool, isn’t it? I do stuff like that more often than I’d like to, but I have to. The goal is always to create the infrastructure for other cool stuff that I plan on doing later. In this case, I now have the infrastructure to control any kind of vehicle, not just the default snowcat. To make this possible, all user-controlled driving is now controlled by Javascript code that I (or anyone else) can create and change rapidly. The supporting built-in code doesn’t differentiate between different vehicles, about anything can be controlled now (planes and helicopters will need much more work, though).

Told you so…

First, something unrelated: I wanted to stop moderating the comments two weeks ago, because it is actually as useless as all my friends told me. But right that day when I want to do it, I get flooded with about fifty useless spam comments (which, thanks to moderating, nobody but me ever saw). So it’s going to stay in for a little longer, although I might need to change the text explaining why I do so.

Screenshots

While I am programming, a lot of screenshots accumulate. What you see posted on my homepage is only a small percentage of these, namely those that happen to get into my posts here. Now I decided to change this and show you more, to get you interested.

Offroad Diesel Locomotive

It won’t be long until I graduate from school, I’ve already had my last regular school day behind me. Some of my friends don’t like the fact that now, they won’t see how my game is going. In school, they could always watch me working right there (when I had my iBook with me). To solve this problem, I try to post more often from now on, showing more steps in between, including stuff that doesn’t work as I want it to. Considering that I’ll have less time for programming and posting due to my final exams, I guess it should even out to the usual level of activity here, but I’ll try to be better than that anyway.

All blog posts about Software - Snow

Snow

Manchmal funktioniert Snow sogar

Jedes mal, wenn ich nach längerer Zeit versuche, wieder an Snow zu arbeiten, weiß ich erst mal nicht, ob es funktioniert oder der Code wieder nur Fehler beinhält.

Was ist Snow?

Wenn ich das nur wüsste. Begonnen habe ich mit diesem Projekt, nach dem ich ein anderes, dass nur in C geschrieben war und letztlich nur Müll war, abgebrochen hatte. Snow ist komplett in Cocoa und Objective-C geschrieben. Physik wird durch Newton bereitgestellt. Snow hat irgend etwas mit Schnee zu tun.

Ziel des Spiels ist es, mit einer Pistenraupe mit Kastenaufbau so lange durch die Gegend zu fahren, bis einem Langweilig wird. Theoretisch habe ich auch noch einen Rennmodus irgendwo dort drin, aber ich habe diesen noch nie komplett getestet.

Ich habe früher mal behauptet, Snow sei ein Spiel, keine “Engine”. Leider ist diese Aussage Mist. Snow ist nichts weiter als eine sehr stark aufgeblasene Technologiedemo. Snow hat Kettenfahrzeugphysik, die nie richtig funktioniert, Eisenbahnen, die nur geradeaus fahren können, Wettereffekte, die zu einem ständigen Blinken führen und vieles mehr.

So war das damals
Mein erster Screenshot

Eigentlich könnte Snow es verdammt gut vertragen, wenn ich irgend wann einmal kräftig durch den Code gehe und alles, was unfertig ist, vervollständige. Leider bin ich dafür aber viel zu faul. Neue Features, die auch nicht funktionieren, zu entwickeln, macht viel mehr Spaß.

Ich hatte mal geplant, Snow vor mehr als einem halben Jahr fertig zu haben. Inzwischen habe ich mehr und mehr Zweifel, ob ich überhaupt irgend wann einmal fertig werde. Snow ist mehr Forschung, als wirklich Entwicklung mit Ziel.

Inzwischen habe ich aufgehört, an Snow weiter zu arbeiten. Viele Ideen, aber wenig Code von Snow lebt nun in Hubschrauber weiter, welches jetzt mein neues, großes (und deutlich besseres) Forschungsprojekt ist. Wenn ich an Snow weiter arbeiten würde, dann würde ich sehr viel Code durch neuen aus Hubschrauber ersetzen.


Letzte zugehörige Blogeinträge

Unterbrechung

Kurzer Hinweis: In letzter Zeit ist hier nicht furchtbar viel passiert, wie vielleicht auch schon so manch einem aufgefallen ist. Das wird auch vorerst so bleiben, nach derzeitigen Planungen für etwa einen Monat. Um die Autobahnbaustellen zu zitieren: Vielen Dank für ihr Verständnis!

Verschiedene Updates

Nach vielen Wochen harter Arbeit habe ich es endlich geschafft: Das Spiel läuft wieder genauso gut wie vorher. Cool, nicht? Tatsächlich mache ich so etwas häufiger, als ich gerne möchte, aber so ist es nun mal. Wie immer liefert auch dieser Umbau die Grundlage für viele, weitere coole Sachen, da jetzt die Infrastruktur vorhanden ist. In diesem speziellen Fall bedeutet das, dass ich jetzt beliebige Fahrzeuge vom Spieler steuern lassen kann, ohne dafür jedesmal den Quellcode zu ändern. Möglich geworden ist dies dadurch, dass jetzt alle Aspekte des Fahrens durch Javascript-Code gesteuert werden, den ich schnell ändern kann und der für beliebige Fahrzeuge gilt.

Hab ich doch gleich gesagt…

Zuerst was ganz anderes: Eigentlich wollte ich die Moderation der Kommentare schon vor zwei Wochen abstellen, weil es, genau wie meine Freunde sagten, Unsinn ist, aber genau an dem Tag, an dem ich das machen wollte, strömten plötzlich fünfzig Spam-Kommentare in meine Datenbank. Die Funktion bleibt also vorerst drin, ich werde nur den Text irgendwann ändern.

Screenshots

Während meiner Programmierbemühungen fallen ziemlich viele Screenshots an, von denen nur ein Bruchteil tatsächlich auf meiner Homepage landet, um genau zu sein, der Teil, der von mir in Newsposts verwendet wird. Ich möchte das jetzt ein wenig ändern und mehr Screenshots veröffentlichen.

Geländediesellok

Demnächst werde ich das Abitur machen, mein letzter regulärer Schultag liegt schon hinter mir. Nun stören sich einige meiner Freunde daran, dass sie nun nicht erfahren, wie es mit meinem Spiel weitergeht (vorher konnten sie Live-Demos sehen, wenn ich mein iBook mit in der Schule hatte). Um dies zu beheben, versuche ich jetzt, öfter zu posten, und auch weniger erfolgreiche Zwischenschritte zu dokumentieren. Mit dem Abitur, durch dass ich dann weniger Zeit haben werden, sollte sich das etwa auf das alte Niveau einpendeln.

Alle Einträge zu Software - Snow